High School Athletes, Coaches Recognized at KFOR Banquet

(5-2-14) Nine high school student athletes, five coaches and a contributor were recognized Thursday night at the 42nd annual KFOR Sportscasters Club All-City Recognition Banquet inside the Grand Manse in downtown Lincoln. Northeast's Toni Tupper, North Star's Jen Scheneman, Southwest's Karlye Cygan, Southeast's Brooke Lattimer, East's Grace Iaquinta, Lincoln High's Caleb Thiessen, Lincoln Lutheran's Jacob Eley, Pius X's Natalie Kurtenbach and Lincoln Christian's Morgan Dworak were each presented with a plate and a $350 scholarship from KFOR that was matched with another $350 scholarship from Bill Hippen of Duct Medic. Southwest coaches Dennis Hershberger, Bob Calegan and Ryan Salem along with East's Kirk Skiles received the Ralph Beechner Coaches of the Year.  Lincoln Lutheran football coach Lyle Ziems  was presented the retirement award after coaching the Warriors for 18 seasons.  Mimi Kuebler  received the Vince Aldrich Sportsperson of the Year award for her longtime contributions to athletics and activities at Southeast High School and for her role as concessions manager at Southeast and Den Hartog Field. Last night's featured speaker was Governor Dave Heineman. 

A   A   A