Abdullah, Gregory and Evans Earn Big Ten Football First Team Honors

CHICAGO -- Three members of the Nebraska football team are being recogized as first team All Big Ten selections. Junior running back Ameer Abdullah and sophomore defensive end Randy Gregory were first-team All-Big Ten selections on both the media and coaches teams. Senior defensive back Ciante Evans joined Abdullah and Gregory on the coaches All-Big Ten first team.  Two other Huskers earned second-team accolades on Monday. Cornerback Stanley Jean-Baptiste was a second-team choice on both teams, while senior center Cole Pensick earned second-team honors from the Big Ten coaches.  Six other Huskers earned honorable-mention all-conference honors on Monday. The coaches’ honorable mention all-conference list included defensive end Jason Ankrah, wide receiver Kenny Bell, safety Corey Cooper and offensive linemen Andrew Rodriguez and Jeremiah Sirles. Honorable-mention choices according to the media panel were Ankrah, Bell, Pensick, Rodriguez, Sirles and place-kicker Pat Smith. Bell and Sirles earned all-conference honors for the second straight year after both being second-team choices in 2012.  Senior fullback C.J. Zimmerer was chosen as Nebraska’s Sportsmanship honoree.

A   A   A